Ernest A. Bryant III Acorn Award

Recognizing outstanding contributions to the mission and programs of Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden

Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden (RSABG) honors an individual, organization or business that makes outstanding contributions to the Garden. Established in 2005, the award was renamed after long-time trustee Ernest A. Bryant III in 2006.


For consideration, a nominator must submit a letter of nomination, preferably at least two seconding letters, and a curriculum vitae, biographical or organizational description for the candidate. In nominating candidates for the award, please specifically highlight the nominee's outstanding contributions in support of Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden's mission and programs. All nominations are held in strict confidence.

Nomination checklist (please include all that apply):

- Name and current address
- Education
- Work history
- Significant accomplishments
- Publications
- Awards
- Plant introductions
- Research
- Plant society activities
- Publicity (please include media outlet and public speaking engagements as well as date of event)
- Professional involvement

Selection process

RSABG's executive director or his or her delegate acts as the non-voting chair of the selection committee. All committee members review and discuss the nominations. A selection committee is comprised of an ad hoc group of five members chosen annually, representing:

- The winner from the previous year or his or her designee
- Chair of the RSABG volunteer organization
- Chair of the RSABG board of overseers
- Two RSABG members at large


Please contact the RSABG executive director, with questions about the award, application process or to submit a nomination.

Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden
1500 North College Avenue
Claremont, CA 91711


Past recipients

2016   Linda Pendergast
2014   Richard A. Grant, Jr.
2013   Art Braeger 
2011   Marilee Scaff, Ph.D.
2010   John Macdonald
2008   Gary Wallace, Ph.D.
2007   Lee W. Lenz, Ph.D.
2006   Ernest A. Bryant III
2006   Marcia Goldstein
2005   Fay McGartland